Do Marshmallows Contain Pork?

Gelatin, a jelly-like substance formed from the collagen of the bones of various animals, including fish, cattle, and pigs, is used in most commercially available marshmallows. While much gelatin is generated from pig bones, the sweet marshmallow result contains no meat.

The original pink-flowered Althaea officinalis mallow plant, an edible plant popular among the ancient Egyptians and commonly employed as a treatment for a variety of ailments, has evolved into commercially produced marshmallows. Modern marshmallows are essentially constructed of sugar, egg whites, and gelatin, which is obtained from the collagen of various animals and serves as a binding agent. Marshmallows are popular and can be eaten on their own or used to make a variety of delights such as s’mores and Marshmallow Peeps.

Read more: Is Every Whole Number an Integer?

Recent Articles

Related Stories

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here